Glitter Keys

Oh glitter, how I love thee!  I think everything can be made better with a little (or a lot) of glitter.  Another nifty thing I stumbled upon while browsing Pinterest, glitter keys.  I fell in love with the idea immediately and glittered my keys the very same day.

My front door and back door locks look identical, but are actually different keys.  It was a daily annoyance of mine, fumbling with them, trying to find the correct key whilst holding a wiggly baby and keeping track of the other kiddos.  I had bought one of those nifty key covers you always see that just slide over your key, supposedly allowing you to easily identify your key and use it at the same time.  Fail.  For my keys anyway.  There is no play room at the top of the key for the thing to sit on without covering the functional part of the key, so while I could quickly identify my key, it was then a five minute battle trying to use said key.

Glittered keys will not disappoint.  They are awesome.

Here’s what you need:

*Keys that you wish to make awesome

*Rubbing Alcohol

*Glitter (different colors to help differentiate between your keys)

*Paper plate or dish to work over to save your excess glitter (waste not want not)

*Paint Brush

*Clear Finger Nail Polish

*Mod Podge (Say it with me people, Mod Podge, not Modge Podge.  Let’s save the world from incorrectly pronouncing our favorite craft staple.)

Okay, here’s how easy peasy this project is.  First, wipe your keys with the alcohol, getting them nice and clean and free of any oils that may make the Mod Podge not adhere well.  Apply a nice layer of Mod Podge to the top of your key.  I went ahead and did both side at the same time.  Don’t forget to get the sides of the key as well.

Once coated, sprinkle the glitter on top, covering all the white areas.  Lay it on thick.  remember, the plate will catch all the excess and you can reuse it, so its not being wasteful to really pile it on.

Then I rest the key on the paper plate to dry while I repeat the steps on the next key.

Let the keys chill out and dry a bit, and then you will re coat them with Mod Podge and one more good, healthy dose of glitter.  Remember, you can never, and I mean never, have too much glitter.  Tap the excess glitter off between coats.

The last step, once the keys are dry, is to coat them with the clear fingernail polish.  This protects the keys and keeps the glitter from rubbing off, making you look like you were attacked by pixie dust.

I think I did about three coats of polish.  You will be able to tell by the look of the key when you have enough, because they will look dull when they have sucked up all the polish and need more.  Once they are good and coated and shiny, then they are complete.

Aren’t they perty?  I love them.  Just seeing my glittered keys makes me smile.  Hey, I’m easily amused!  I offered to glitter Abe’s keys, but he declined my awesomeness.  He is the official Party Pooper of the house.

2 thoughts on “Glitter Keys

Leave a Reply

