Indian Strawberries

While sitting out in the back yard this past weekend, a flash of red near one of our trees caught my eye.  At first I thought it was some sort of flower that had accidentally gotten transplanted, either by wind or rogue gardening kiddo.  Upon closer inspection, I saw this:

What the what?!

Teeny, tiny strawberry looking fruit on what appears to be a strawberry plant.  But so small!  And alien looking!

I had Abe come out and look at it, and he declared it to be wild strawberries.  Upon further research on my part, I believe these to be Indian Strawberries, also known as False Strawberries, Mock Strawberries, She Mei, and Wild Indian Strawberry.  Also often confused for wild strawberries.

The fruit is edible, but completely tasteless.  We ate them and didn’t die, but I wouldn’t eat them again.

They are a perennial herb with several medicinal purposes, but are considered by many as an invasive weed.  Their location doesn’t bother me, so as far as I’m concerned they can spread as much as they like.  Its kind of neat to look out and see the tiny strawberries growing wild.  What can I say, I’m easily amused.

5 thoughts on “Indian Strawberries

  1. Pingback: Keep your fresh strawberries “fresh” « To Cook With Love

  2. Pingback: The Strawberry Poem « Publish N Prosper

  3. Pingback: Weekend off « ARMB Garden Experience

  4. Pingback: Let Me Take You Down To Strawberry Farm. « the unbearable lightness of being me.

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Lucu-Maca Wild Berry Framboos Nutno-Cheesecake..Put on your dancing shoes | Gold Within

Leave a Reply

