2 Liter Soda Bottle Doll Project

Mattman is in fourth grade this year, and was recently assigned his first “big” school project.  He brought home a list of famous Missouri people and was to write a paragraph about what made them famous and then, and here comes the fun part, make a doll of said famous person out of a 2 liter soda bottle.

Huh?

What’s the first thing that comes to your mind when you hear “2 liter soda bottle doll”?  Something fugly, am I right?  Me too.  I groaned at the thought of the poor ugly thing before it was even made.  Also, what ever happened to just writing reports?  Or drawing a picture to go along with the report?

The name that stood out on the list, for obvious reasons, was Walt Disney.  Um, yeah.  We are Disney freaks in this house.  This was a no brainer.  No Daniel Boone, no George Washington Carver, we wanted to pay our respects the the man that created Mickey Mouse.

Last weekend we gathered supplies from Michaels, my regular supplier for all my crafting fixes.  We grabbed lots of felt, a big, way overpriced styrofoam ball for the head, and a tub of buttons that I had been wanting to get for various projects.  Two birds, one stone if you will.

I already had yarn and glue and lots of other things for inspiration.  I have to say, the fugly little doll, along with Matt’s awesome imagination, turned out….well, cute.  Really.  He decided to give it big button eyes, like a LalaLoopsy doll, and so of course it needed a stitched mouth.  Here’s what it turned out like:

We took artistic license, obviously.  But he has the dress pants, dress shirt and tie he was always seen in, along with Mickey Mouse ears and a folksy little stuffed Mickey in his arms. On the front of the hat, Matt made a Mickey Mouse Logo that Says Disney Land 1955, which is the year Disney Land opened.  On the back of the hat:

(sorry for the crappy, blurry picture) It says “Walt”, made with red yarn and glue, to look like the awesome personalized stitched ones that are so popular.

Okay, come on.  It’s not as fugly as you thought it would be, is it?  It’s even kind of cute.  Also, I learned a few things while helping with this project.

5 Things Mama Learned Whilst Assisting In The Fugly Doll Project:

1. Hot glue melts styrofoam.  Like, really, alot.  We’re talking massive craters.

2. Hot glue melts soda bottles.  Like, really, alot.  We’re talking crazy, warping.

3. Hot glue melts skin off of fingers.  Like, really, OWWWWWWWW!!!!  Holycrapballs!  I have only had my hot glue gun for a few short months, and I have always followed Martha Stewart’s advice of having a bowl of ice water handy, just in case.  Except this time.  The time I decided to get my very first hot glue gun burn.  And holy crap, does that hurt!!!  Alot!  Lesson learned.

4. Hot glue does not work well on felt.  Maybe I was just so annoyed and in pain from my burning flesh that I didn’t give it time to work well.  But we went to my old standby, E6000.  That glue is AWESOME.  And I have been using it for over 10 years without any injuries.  That’s the kind of track record I can appreciate.

5. Don’t doubt your kid.  I envisioned fugliness from the very beginning of this project and had tunnel vision, not able to even imagine a doll that didn’t suck.  But Matt amazed me with his creativity, as he always seems to do.  Sure, it’s not an exact replica of Mr Disney.  But who cares?  It was creative and it got the job done.  I love it.

So we survived the first “big” school project.  I’m sure as the years go by the projects will get harder and less fun.  But in the meantime, I enjoyed being proved wrong by my awesome kid.  He’s cool like that.

10 thoughts on “2 Liter Soda Bottle Doll Project

  1. Super cute soda bottle guy! Thanks for the tips and inspiration. My fourth grader has to come up with JFK (to go with his book report) by this Monday!

  2. I get to do this project with my son this weekend. I couldn’t believe your son chose Walt Disney too! I’m sure it will be just fabulous.

    That was sarcasm.

    I really do appreciate your post. I’m freaking out a bit but you helped.

    • My condolences. :)

      What a silly project, I wonder how it even got started? I have seen some super amazing 2 liter doll projects, but then I think about how much of the poor mom’s life was lost, working and slaving to make it so amazing and then I am reminded that ours wasn’t so bad after all. :)

      Good luck to you! And good choice with Walt Disney, he is one of the less terribly boring ones to suffer through! hehe

      Angie

  3. Thanks for this info. My Daughter is in 1st grade and this is her assignment. I was like “whoa”…How you gonna give this to a 1st grader? But no options so off we go to the craft store. Super cute doll and thanks again. TES.

Leave a Reply

