Chocolate Bird Nests

Easter is fast approaching and in this house, Mama likes to impress the guests with the unexpected.  Its an illness, I blame Martha Stewart.  All hail Martha!  *ahem*

Anyway, a few years ago, we made a neat variation of this treat using M&M’s for Christmas.  Not sure how we decided that nests were Christmas-y but, they were good and pretty, and you just don’t question that.  Right?  Right.  When we made them, we just piled the goo onto parchment paper and made freestyle nests.  They were awesome, of course, but they were also pretty big.  Like, palm of your hand big.  Kind of large for a sweet treat.  So as I planned out this treat in my head for Easter, I thought I would dig out my muffin pan and use that for smart portion control.  See how I roll?  When I grabbed what I thought was my standard size muffin pan, I actually grabbed my mini muffin pan that I had completely forgotten I even owned.  (Darn babies, stealing Mama’s brain cells)

And then the proverbial light bulb went off and aha, I say!  No really, I did in fact say “Aha!” outloud.  Then Noah, my toddler, says “What Mommy?” To which I say, “Mommy had a great idea!”  To which he says, “Awesome!”  See?  I’m not the only one in the house that over uses that awesome word.  I just used the word ‘awesome’ to describe the word ‘awesome’.   Yup.

Back to the nests!

Gather up your Chow Mein Noodles,  Chocolate Chips, and egg shaped candy.  I used Robin’s Eggs, which were my second choice.  I sent Abe out to get the little candy coated Cadbury Eggs, but he “couldn’t find them”.  Whatevs.  I think you get the idea.  You could also use jelly beans or M&M’s, whatever your little heart desires really.

Next, melt your chocolate chips.  This is my handy dandy chocolate melter thingy that I got from QVC.   Don’t judge.  Home shopping is AWESOME and convenient.  I’m not sure if they sell it anymore, but its pretty nifty.  It only heats up warm enough to melt the chocolate, never scorches.  Of course, thats its only purpose though, so if you don’t plan on melting loads of chocolate on a regular basis, you could do the double boiler method.  Or the microwave, if you’re brave.

Once its all melted, I threw about half the bag of chow mein noodles into a large bowl and poured the melted chocolate on top, stirring it all together to coat the noodles.  I already had my mini muffin pan ready to go and sprayed with non stick cooking spray just in case.  Using a spoon, put blobs of this mixture into the pan, noticing how it is already looking totally awesome and nest like.  Once all the cups are filled, bust out your eggs and plop those puppies into the nests you just made.  I did two eggs per nest because…..I wanted to.

See how pretty and nest like they are?  The melted chocolate will work as a glue to hold the eggs in place, no worries.  Then I like to place the tray into the fridge or freezer to harden.  I will admit, I had some anxiety wondering if they would come out of the muffin tin without sticking.  They seemed pretty well stuck when I pulled them out this morning.  I grabbed a butter knife to loosen the edges and they popped out without a problem though.

So cute!  And not too big!  My mix made 24 little nests with one globby spoon full of chocolate and stray noodles for Mama and a bowl of chocolate-y goodness for the babies to fight over.

I am *hoping* this lasts at least through Saturday when we are having a cousin playdate with the kiddos after some Easter activities.  If not, well then there is photographic proof that I did indeed make these treats.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Bird Nests

  1. Your awesomely awesome blog is…awesome! And the bird’s nests, awesome! And the word awesome is fantastic, nothing beats awesome ;D

    • Lol! No, you are awesomey awesome! 😀 I didn’t feel like I had enough room for my crafty obsession of Facebook, so I landed here and am loving it. So glad you are enjoying it too! The nests are so easy, and the cake for that matter, its crazy. And it totally looks like you slaved away making them. I got a lot of compliments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

