Purina Farms

Our family decided to make our yearly trek to Purina Farms this past weekend with the cousins.  It is always my philosophy, the more the merrier, and in my opinion, it was definitely merrier with them along for the ride.  *smile*

The dog show was amazing, as always!

One of the highlights of going to Purina Farms each year, is definitely the dog show!  They only use dogs that are rescued from shelters, further proving that mixed breeds are just as good (if not better!) than the hoity toity pure breeds.  Yeah, I called pure bred dogs hoity toity.  We are a rescue family, all of our fur babies are from shelters, and I truly believe that they know that they were chosen.  Whoops, better jump off my soap box here….

 

Anyway, the dogs did not disappoint, and this year there was even a pig thrown into the mix!

 

Go piggy, go!

 

This piggy came out to the LMFAO song, “Sexy And I Know It”.  Loved it!  I’m shocked Noah wasn’t shaking his booty to the music, thats one of his favorite jams!

 

We got Easter bunny pics with all the kiddos, and even one with just Sara and the bunny and she was totally chill, just taking in the scenery.  Her little baby cousin was less impressed with the bunny, which is how we expected Sara to act, its kind of a tradition in our family for the babies to be completely freaked out by the bunny for the first pic.  But I think the crying pictures are just as cute as the smiling ones.  Its their natural reaction and a memory just the same.

 

I had the pleasure of having a pretty lengthy sit down conversation with my 10 year old cousin, something I haven’t been able to do in a long time. This kid is awesome.  I mean, really, just awesome.  And do you know what the best thing you can ever to for a kid is?  Any kid, any age, its like magic.  Just sit down and listen.  Listen to their stories, to their feelings, to their reaction to the world around you.  It will never cease to amaze me, the pure excitement and life that children will share with you if you just sit down and give them the gift of your undivided attention.  Love these kids, I really do.

 

It always seems like the time flies by so quickly when the cousins are over.  It makes me wish we all lived closer and saw each other even more often.

 

I am dumbfounded when I think that at the end of this year, we will have a 10 year old, a 7 year old, a 3 year old and a 1 year old.  Where does the time go?!  Thats it, I am investing in some kid sized Tupperware and putting the kiddos in them every night to keep them young and fresh!  Whos with me?  I bet if we all place one large order, we can get a discount.

Leave a Reply

