Lactivist

Breastfeeding symbol

Here’s Mama’s two cents on breastfeeding.  Yes, we are gonna talk about boobs today.

Breastfeeding = Good.

Profound, right?  But wait, there’s more!

Nursing in Public = Good.

Say what?!  But that’s obscene!  Using breasts for their purpose!  To feed a hungry baby!  Oh, the humanity!

If I can watch you eat a burger in public without feeling uncomfortable, then why should nursing be any different?  (Oh no, shes one of those moms…)

I am a proud breastfeeding mommy.  I nurse my babies in public.  I have had complete conversations with strangers who have come up to talk to me while I was nursing, because they simply thought the baby was sleeping.  I am also married to my breast pump right now.  We definitely have a love/hate relationship, but that’s a post for another day.  When I feed my baby a bottle in public, I feel more embarrassed that people will think she is eating formula than I ever have nursing in public.

But that’s me and my problems.  There is nothing wrong with formula, and I don’t judge any other mother for how she decides is best to feed her baby.  That’s not my business.

As mothers, I think we simply need to support each other.  See a mama nursing in public?  Make eye contact and do a fist pump.  She is awesome.  See a mama feeding a bottle in public?  (Could be formula or breast milk, lets not assume…)  Make eye contact and do a fist pump.    She is awesome.  See a daddy nursing in public?  Avoid eye contact, but definitely call Ripley’s Believe It Or Not, or something….

My point?  Oh yes, I do have one.  Less judgement people.  Live and let live.  Love one another.  Appreciate what you have and appreciate that everyone in this world is unique and that’s what makes it awesome.

Leave a Reply

