Splurging

This past weekend, I had a wonderful evening of good company with a very good friend of mine.  We got in some retail therapy, which is always good for what ails ya.  Well, it works wonders on me, anyway.

As we were looking around the store, we came across the handbags.  I love handbags.  So does my friend.  She told me the two things she likes to splurge on for herself most often are handbags and shoes.  Then she asked me what my splurge for myself was.

I didn’t have an answer at first, I was racking my brain trying to figure out just what it is that I splurge on.  I looked down at my cart that was filled with things for my babies.  Clothes, shoes, hair doo dads.

My splurge is my babies.

As mommies, how many times do we do without just to give our children more?  I think its just natural.  I wouldn’t say I never get anything for myself, but really, I get most excited when I am able to get something new for the kiddos.

My friend forced me to buy myself a new handbag for myself.  Yes, I blame her.  It was an awesome deal, and I really did need to replace the one I had.  I felt guilty about buying it.  How silly is that?  When I came home, I told Abe that I bought myself a handbag as if I were admitting to a crime.  “Should I return it?” I asked.

Of course he said “no”, and he told me to quit feeling guilty.

What’s your splurge?  Have you treated yourself lately?  You should.  And don’t feel guilty about it.  Everyone deserves a little treat from time to time.  And if it helps, blame it on a friend.  We should all be so lucky to have a friend that reminds us that we are worth a little indulgence every once in awhile.

5 thoughts on “Splurging

  1. Pingback: April Citrus Lane Box! | Living La Vida Mommy

  2. lol……
    I love this post:) And I will take full blame for your splurge because it is a cute bag, great price and you deserve it more than anyone I know!!!

    But you better bet I’m telling Abe your total for that evening;)

  3. Pingback: Why splurging on yourself is important « mhutchess

  4. Pingback: Why splurging on yourself is important | MHutchess

Leave a Reply

