DIY Earring Holder

Isabella loves going into Claire’s stores and drooling over all the pretty earrings and girly stuff they stock.  I have to admit, I love going in there too.  The cuteness factor is over the top.  The price tags?  Well they are over the top too.  Especially the tiny, albeit crazy adorable, earring holders.  I could not justify spending $20 on the tiny holders, so I decided to make one myself.  For free.

Did you hear that Abe?  Free!  Well, because I already had the materials on hand.  But still.  Free!  Its simple, but functional, and I love it.

I think the photo explains it all, but I’ll still tell you what I did.

Basically its just a pretty fabric that I loved, stretched in an embroidery hoop.  I used a large one, because we have lots of earrings and also because I love the pretty little bird pattern on the fabric.  I cut the excess fabric and then hot glued the edges on the reverse side to keep everything in place.  I tied a ribbon to the top for hanging, and as for the earrings, well they just stick right through the fabric!  Easy as that!

I am gentle when I put the earrings in, so as not to over stretch the fabric and make it look loose.  I have seen variations with lace and screen, and all kinds of other complicated tricks, but this works just fine.  I’m sure you could make it fancy, paint the hoop, add some ruffles or other embellishments, but I kind of like the simplicity of it how it is.

Even if I had to buy the materials, the hoop would be less than $2, and the fabric about $3, so we’re talking super cheap here.  Cute and cheap and functional.  Yup.  That equals awesome in my book.

One thought on “DIY Earring Holder

  1. Pingback: DIY Hair Bow Holder | Living La Vida Mommy

Leave a Reply

