The End Is Near!

It is that magical, albeit stressful, time of year when the kids activities are finally coming to an end.  They only have a few days of school left, the last Girl Scout and Cub Scout meetings are now behind us, and Isabella’s dance recital is this weekend.

As everything is winding down, it’s the rushed chaos at the end that always seems to get me especially stretched thin.  This year, because Isabella is on the dance team, she has three dances to perform, along with the grand finale at the end.  And also, because she is on the dance team, she will be performing in both shows, the afternoon and the evening.

She is super excited, dancing is her life.  She loves the stage, and the stage certainly seems to enjoy her company as well.  Mama is…..not super excited, and that is a bummer.  I don’t get to sit and enjoy the show so much this year, because I will be running back stage for costume changes.  Four of them.  She is even supposed to have different hair styles for each dance.  I don’t know if I will do that.  I may rebel.  It’s not competition, it’s the end of year recital.  It should be stress free and enjoyable.  Right?  Right?

Recital day is going to be a very long day.  After dance pictures next week, I will be very happy to put the dance gear away until next season.  Well, she will have some summer classes.  Three weeks of technique classes for the dance team.  But then, then we will put away the dance gear and relax.

Matt wants to pick up Tae Kwan Do classes again this summer.  I suppose that will take the place of dance for a while, but he gets himself ready for that, and there is no crazy required this that and the other thing to dread at the end of session.

I didn’t mean for this post to sound so whiny and woe is me.  Honestly.  I guess my stress if spilling through because of the hectic schedule both today and tomorrow.  I love watching Isabella dance.  I love watching the recital.  I think the dance school expects too much from the parents that have kids in several different dances.  One hair style should suffice.  There is so much hair spray and bobby pins to keep one hair style in place, it would be a hot mess trying to unglue one style and make a new one for each dance.  Not to mention, doing that for each dance twice because of doing both shows.

See, I think that is what is really annoying me about the whole thing.  I think I need to just stick to my guns, do the one and only hairstyle and just enjoy the show.

Yes.  Yes, I will do that.

Probably.

Maybe.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

