DIY Hair Clip Holder

I have a baby cousin that is about the same age as my Saraphina.  We just celebrated her birthday this past weekend, which was super fun.  I knew months ago that I wanted to make her a hair bow holder, even though, as I have come to recently find out she doesn’t like to keep things on her head.  D’oh!  But babies can be trained.  Mine are.  And some day, she will wear them.  And she will have a spiffy place to store them, because I am awesome.  And modest.  Very modest.

I started with a wooden plaque from Michaels.  I drilled a hole in it for the ribbon to hang it, and sanded it very smoothly.  Then I added a few layers of paint.

I chose some pretty scrap book paper and cut it just slightly smaller than the inside oval and then used Mod Podge to hold it in place.  (Note I use Mod Podge, not Modge Podge.  There is a difference.  Crazy, anal crafters never use Modge Podge.)

I added letters for her name, and then I added several more coats of Mod Podge.  Once dry, I added the cutie patootie little owl and flower as embellishments.  Her birthday party was owl themed, so it was a perfect fit!

I glued a ribbon to the back of the plaque for the hair clips to get clipped to and I also added a ribbon to the top for hanging purposes.

I think it turned out super cute!  I also made the little flower hair clips, including one with a “C” for Celia, and the others had pretty jewels.  The flower clips are super easy, I’ll have to put up a tutorial for them soon.  My girls wear them all the time.  With Sara, I just clip them to her head bands, because her hair isn’t quite long enough to hold the clips yet.  It will get there soon enough.

Pretty simple, but a nice little decorative way to store those hair clips.  I had fun making it, I hope little Celia enjoys it!

4 thoughts on “DIY Hair Clip Holder

Leave a Reply

