Back to School

World-famous Crayola crayons are manufactured ...

The stores are filled with back to school supplies, the supply lists are out, the summer, though just begun, is quickly coming to an end.  The kids start school mid August.  Craziness.  I remember when the school year started after Labor Day.  Yeah, I guess I’m getting old.

One thing that has always irked me about the kids supply lists, is the insane specifications of exactly what color, what brand, etc that they have to have.  What annoys me further is when the teacher uses the all caps and bold fonts to really pound in the message that Roseart crayons are not good enough, they must be CRAYOLA!!!

Do you know what that does to a stubborn headed, childish, Latina mommy?  Well, if you guessed that I buy the Roseart crayons just because it’s the opposite of what the anal, OCD teacher wanted, then you are correct!  A crayon is a crayon.  A folder is a folder.  A notebook is a notebook.  I could go on and on.  I get everything on the list, I even send in extra Kleenex and hand sanitizer and anything else I think could be useful for the classroom.  But holyantiauthority Batman, let’s not get on a power trip about art supplies.

I was pleasantly surprised this year to see that the lists aren’t crazy specific as they usually are.  That makes the entire supply hunt so much less stressful.  And cheaper.  And less passive aggressive.

5 thoughts on “Back to School

  1. that IS crazy. last year my daughter was in kindergarten, the school list was minimal…basically an empty pencil case (the school supplied the crayons). i can’t imagine if they tried forcing me to buy a certain brand? i’d probably fill her case with Sharpies insteado_O

    we start the last week of august here, but i also remember starting after labor day back in ancient times…

  2. Pingback: Nine Writes

Leave a Reply

