Good luck? Sure, I’ll take some!

Hummingbird

I was sitting outside on the back steps this morning, listening to the bugs chirping and admiring the crappy job the tree guys did when a very large thing started to buzz around my head.

I will readily admit that I am scared of bugs.  Hate them.  I possess the unique ability to be all chill and pretend that they don’t bother me around the kids, because I don’t want them getting my irrational fears, but I am slowly dying and screaming on the inside.

So I am about a millisecond away from jumping up and screaming, acting all a fool, when the ginormous thing lands on the fence, just a few feet away from me.

My heart stopped as I held my breath, prepared to see some mutated gigantic insect from hell, moments away from sucking my soul with it’s ghastly, buggy evilness.

As I opened my eyes through squinted lids, do you know what I saw?

A hummingbird.

*giant sigh of relief*

I let out a nervous laugh as the tiny, gorgeous little bird looked over at me as if to say, “Really?”  He sat for a few seconds and then flew away, probably to tell all his friends about the ridiculous loca mami that was so scared by the little hummingbird, she almost fainted on the back steps.

Soooooo…….

Completely ignoring the embarrassment of my little freak out, it is said and believed in many cultures that seeing a hummingbird is good luck.  Many Native American tribes and Mexican folklore tell of the hummingbird as having mystical powers, carrying our prayers to God and promising good fortune for those lucky enough to be visited by them, scared half to death or not.

Have you ever had a hummingbird buzz by your head before?  To be fair, they do sound like a massive insect, that buzzing noise their wings make, and their flitty, fast movements.  It’s not completely irrational to assume that it’s a bug.  I mean, it makes sense.  I see bugs far more often that I see hummingbirds.

Anyway,  yadda yadda yadda, good luck, yeah, I’ll take it.  Maybe I won’t nearly pee my pants next time I get buzzed by a hummingbird.  That really would be some good luck!

 

3 thoughts on “Good luck? Sure, I’ll take some!

  1. I’ve loved hummingbirds since I was little, they’re so neat with their tiny bodies and superfast wings! My hummingbird friend in Hazelwood always scared the bejeezus out of me, they do sound like giant bugs when they’re right by your head! I’m always expecting another damn wasp, it’s a relief to see it’s a cheery little buzz-bird ❤

  2. Pingback: More Good Luck? | Living La Vida Mommy

Leave a Reply

