In loving memory….

August 17th has been burned into my memory for the last twelve years.  That is the day the world lost a truly amazing human being, Kevin Heisinger.

We worked together at Kmart, back in high school days,  along with a handful of other pretty awesome people that I am still lucky to call my friends.  He was by far one of the nicest, caring, wonderful people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.  I still have a scrapbook with birthday cards he gave me, and ticket stubs to movies we went out to see together as the “K Crew”.

On August 17, 2000, Kevin was beaten to death in a men’s bathroom in a Kalamazoo bus station.  There were witnesses, grown adults who heard the screams for help and did nothing.  It took a twelve year old child to break the silence and call for help.

I remain as dumbfounded by his death today as I did 12 years ago.  I could rant and vent and tell you how I really feel about the monster that killed him or the horrible people that stood by and did nothing, but in honor of Kevin, I will simply share some articles about the incident and about the bill passed in his honor.

You can read more about his death HERE.

You can read about Kevin’s Law, a bill that took affect in Michigan in 2005 HERE.

Kevin Heisinger

February 13, 1976-August 17, 2000

Gone but never forgotten.

8 thoughts on “In loving memory….

  1. How horrible for you and Kevin.i will be thinking of this all day and hope that the happy memories of him will over shadow that horrible ending.He has a beautiful smile.Blessings

  2. I remember Kevin too. Glad to see your post. I was just wishing that in 12 years something had improved so that things like this didn’t seem to be happening with increasing frequency.

  3. Hello, I was thinking about Kevin just now – sort of out of the blue- and I googled his name and came across this tribute. Curious who you are since I also knew Kevin and I also worked at K-Mart back in the day. :0) Anyway, nice that his memory lives on in posts, tributes, etc such as yours. His life, while cut way too short, was not in vain; his kind and caring nature still lives on.

    • Hi Jill,

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a note! I think anyone who knew Kevin couldn’t help but be touched by him, he truly was an amazing person.

      What department did you work in at K-Mart? Your name doesn’t sound familiar to me, I worked there from 1996-1998. Started at checkouts, and eventually pretty much worked every area of the store, you know how that goes! 🙂

      Have a great day, Jill!

      Angie

      • That explains it…we just missed each other in the years we worked there. I worked there from 92 – 96. Also, Kevin graduated my year so I was friends with him in school too. Took him home sometimes when our shifts matched up at K Mart.

        Yes, he was great. Anytime I have told his story to someone who never knew him has been a bit frustrating. After all, whenever anyone mentions someone who has passed, they always refer to that person as ‘one of the nicest people ever’, etc etc and in Kevin’s case, as you know, that was 100% true. So it has always felt so cliche to say it and I never feel like people really understand that I mean it.

        Can’t you just picture him now, laughing about something that slightly embarrasses him? He would sort of slightly fold up in himself and turn a little red? I can see it like it was yesterday.

        ________________________________

      • Oh, absolutely! The smallest compliment would turn his cheeks the brightest red, he had no idea how amazing he really was, and you are so right, unless you knew him in real life, words just can not do justice to the truly amazing, kindhearted soul that he was.

        You may have known my mom, Yvonne V. who worked the floor and eventually moved to lay-a-way? I’m sure you and I must have several mutual friends from K-Mart!

        Thank you again for stopping by, I always smile when I think about Kevin, it’s nice to speak with someone who’s life was also touched by a real life angel. 🙂

        Angie

      • I remember a Yvonne…I am sure that must have been your Mom….after all, how many Yvonnes worked at Kmart?

        Hard to believe Kmart is no longer. That was such apart of my teen years…after all, I worked there from the age of 16 to about 20. Before it closed, I think just about the only people who still worked there who were there when I was were Sue Barnes and “dark haired Sandy”, one of the managers. I can’t remember her last name.

        I do still see Mr Craig on occasion as I am still friends with his daughter, Mandy.

        Anyway, it is very nice to meet you. And thank you for having taken the time to respond to me.

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

