Baby Cubes Review & Giveaway!

As I have mentioned several times before, I like to make my own baby food.  It’s cheap, it’s easy, and I control exactly what goes into it.  My previous method was to make my batches and then use ice cube trays to freeze serving sized portions.  I then dumped the frozen cubes of baby food into a gallon size freezer bag to keep them fresh.

One problem with the freezer bag method, was a lot of ice crystals inevitably formed inside the bag, which could affect the taste and quality of the baby food.  And using the ice cube trays, while convenient, was a pain in the behind trying to pry the frozen food out to store.

I assumed the little annoyances were just a part of the game, until I was recently introduced to Baby Cubes.

First things first, let me assure you that Baby Cubes are BPA and Phthalates free.  Also, let me just say, they are AWESOME.

Baby Cubes come in three different sizes for perfect portion control and less waste.  There are 1oz, 2oz, and 4oz cubes, and each little cube has the lid attached directly onto it, so you never have to worry about losing lids!  Also, they snap into place on the trays, so you don’t have to worry about them tipping over while you are filling them or even while they are in storage.  The cubes are also microwave safe, and being separated into single portion sizes, you will never have ice build up or freezer burn affecting your homemade baby food!

I think if people realized just how incredibly easy it is to make fresh baby food, the baby food companies would go out of business.  Don’t believe me?

This is a halved butternut squash.  Place it in a baking dish, cut side down with about 1/2 inch of water in the dish.  Cook at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes, or until easily pierced with a knife.  Here’s where it gets tricky.  Scoop out the flesh and you are done.  Seriously.

Leave it lumpier for older babies and make it smoother for younger babies.  That is it!  No seasonings, no preservatives, no chemicals.  Just simple, healthy, fresh baby food!

How about peas?

I like to use a blender for my peas to get a smoother consistency.  Just take fresh cooked peas with some reserved cooking water and toss it all in a blender.  Then blend it all up until you get the texture you want.

See how easy that was?  And cheap and awesome?  So why not make your own fresh baby food?  And Baby Cubes is the absolute perfect way to store them!

Two more awesome features of Baby Cubes, they stack perfectly on top of each other, no matter what size cubes you are using and they have removable plaques that you can use a dry or wet erase marker on to write exactly what kind of baby food that tray is holding!

Look how nicely and easily they fit into the freezer!  They have a tiny footprint, and it is super easy to grab a serving as you need it.  Don’t have any ninos in the baby food stage?  Not a problem!  Continue making the fruit and veggie purees and sneak them into your regular cooking.  Throw a serving of sweet potatoes into the macaroni and cheese or a few servings of cauliflower in the mashed potatoes.  Everyone will get extra servings of veggies without even knowing it.

Baby cubes are also awesome for storing serving sizes of sauces,stews,rice or soups, you name it.  There is no reason to stop using these once the baby is out of the pureed food stage.  Hey, anything that makes cooking and storing healthy food easier and more convenient is always welcome in my cocina!

Give Baby Cubes a try, I’m sure you will find endless possibilities in your kitchen as well.

The awesome, and I mean awesome, folks at Baby Cubes have very generously given me a huge stash of Baby Cubes to share with my readers for a massive giveaway.

We’re talking 10 winners here amigas!

Ten of my readers will win a three pack of Baby Cubes.  That is one in each size, a 1 oz, a 2 oz and a 4 oz tray!

Are you excited?  Me too!

Leave a comment in this post as your entry.  Tell me what you’ll use your Baby Cubes for if you win.  That’s it.  Easy peasy!  I’ll be announcing the winners, all 10 of them, on Friday, September 14, 2012.

In the meantime, if you can’t wait to learn more or get your hands on some Baby Cubes of your own, check out Baby Cubes website by clicking HERE.  You will find more information on this awesome product as well as where to buy them in your local area.

The awesome folks at Baby Cubes provided me with free products for review purposes.  I was not compensated in any other way, and I really do think that Baby Cubes are an amazing, useful product that no home made baby food making mama should be without!

35 thoughts on “Baby Cubes Review & Giveaway!

  1. I use the ice cube trays too, but I like this idea so much better! Seems like it would keep everything so much fresher! I am in the middle of baby food making, I didn’t know making squash was that easy, I want to try it! That’s what I would use mine for when I win, 🙂

    • Good question! I don’t see why it wouldn’t. There are fill lines on the containers so you don’t overfill them, and as long as you follow breast milk storage guidelines, I think these would work great! 🙂

  2. Why did I not know about these sooner? I like your idea for using them after baby food stage is over, I would use it for soups and stews and portion control for my lunches. 🙂

  3. I would use these for our garden overflow! I have twins toddlers and love your brilliant idea of sneaking in the purred veggies and fruits.

  4. I have never seen anything like this, I want to stock up on them though! I am pregnant right now, and was thinking of making my own baby food, but thought it would be so much more work. Thank you for this post and for introducing us to Baby Cubes. 🙂

  5. Thank you, thank you, thank you for your instructions on doing butternut squash. Every mom I talk to seems to make their own baby food and rave about butternut squash. I’ve been too intimidated to even try…Not any more. Love that they can be used for more than just babyfood…

  6. I love making my own baby food too, and like you, I’ve made it in batches, frozen it in ice cube trays and then put it in freezer bags to store. I’ve been wondering how to get rid of the ice crystal problem for awhile now and these would be absolutely perfect! We’ve tried store bought food, but I don’t like all the additives, color or taste and my little one seems to love homemade food so much better too! Plus it’s so easy to tailor to her developmental stage with textures and flavors and you can make what’s in season! These would be such a lifesaver…. after baby, they’d make a great way to freeze and store fresh herbs in olive oil and to make special frozen desert treats! 🙂 Thanks for sharing such a great product with us!

  7. I like to save yogurt this way when it may go bad in the fridge befoore it gets ate, so this would be so good for that. I love reading your blog by the way!

  8. Fresh herbs would work well, and I like to make tomato sauses and have them frozen in portions like this but usually use ziplocks which can break and leave an awful mess.

  9. i don’t know why but i always thought making your own baby food would be so much harder.now i feel dumb for never trying before. lol

  10. would it be too stupid to store pre made baby food in these? like, to buy the big jars and then make them into smaller portions so they don’t go bad?

    • Nah, but you know, making your own is pretty easy too… Just sayin! lol Anything that makes things easier in your household is cool by me, so there is nothing “stupid” you could use these for. Good luck to you!

  11. I always boiled my baby food and it made a bland, yucky mess that the babies would never eat. Guess your way makes more sense. ha My daughter would love these for her little one. I won’t tell her my secret recipe for muck though, no worries. ha

  12. Pingback: Baby Cubes Giveaway Reminder | Living La Vida Mommy

  13. These look wonderful. I am going to make my daughter’s food this time around and these would make storing it so much easier. Thanks for the tips on how to prepare.

Leave a Reply

