Black Friday!!!

Gift Wrapped – 20 Songs That Keep on Giving!

I won’t lie.  I love to shop.  Retail therapy is a real thing for me, and finding an awesome bargain?  Well, that is icing on the cake.  This time of year, the stores are gearing up for some of the craziest sales of the season, and I just love it!

I follow a website that leaks the ads early, that’s how obsessed I am.  This year, we have a pricey 3DS XL on Santa’s list, so I am really hoping that someone will have a nice bundle on sale.

I’m also trying to dial back a little on the gift giving this year because I tend to get a little out of control.  I made a list and am trying very hard to stick with it.  That’s easier said than done, especially with all the leaked sales coming out!  The problem is, Christmas morning is so full of gift opening, that lots of gifts get thrown aside to open new ones.  The kids get so many toys, they don’t know what to play with first.  The littles especially, even get tired of opening gifts!  Hello!  Time for a wake up call, mama!

I heard of this awesome old Victorian tradition of gift giving which basically consists of four gifts.  Something you want, something you need, something to wear and something to read.  How smart is that?  A little bit of everything, and with less gifts, it’s so much easier to appreciate what is actually received.

Well, I already went over that four gift limit.  Not as badly as before, so I get points for that, right?  And I am sticking to the general rule of the four categories.  What really complicates things is when the kids get older and the items they ask for get so much more expensive.  The 3DS XL?  Yeah, without any games, it runs $200.  A game will be at least another $30.  That’s for one kid.  We have four.

Now, the other kids lists, well, they are all significantly less expensive.  They could get way more gifts for not even close to the cost of the 3DS XL.  But then, one kid is opening only a couple gifts and the others have a whole bunch?  That’s not fair.  Is it?

I don’t know.  I think I over think it all.

That is so unlike me.

Stop laughing.  Seriously.

One thought on “Black Friday!!!

  1. I’m in the same boat, Angie. I tell myself each year that I will not overdo it and as soon as the week before Christmas arrives I become filled with the desire to give…and buy for others. It’s true, as they get older their gifts become so much more expensive. I like the 4 gift categories…I think I will give it a try.

Leave a Reply

