KidSwitch Review!

When we moved into our new home, we found ourselves with an interesting problem.  At the old house, the kids could all very easily reach the light switch to each and every room.  Awesome and annoying at the same time!  :)  The switches were just about at door knob level, and even Saraphina, our newly two year old could turn the lights on all by herself, which she did often.  Repeatedly.  We’re talking baby strobe lights here, people.  But I digress.

On the very first day in our new house, Noah ran upstairs to go potty.  Just as quickly as he ran off, he ran right back, asking someone to turn the light on for him.  Strange.  When I followed him to the bathroom, I asked him to try to turn the light on himself, and this is what I saw:

ks2

 

(Please excuse the terrible color and condition of the walls, we just moved in, bathroom renovation is on the list!)

The light switches in our new house are far higher than our old home!  They are a good 12-14 inches higher than the door knobs, meaning the little ones can’t turn on (or off) any light switches without assistance.

Well, this got old quickly!  I don’t know about your kiddos, but mine visit the potty a lot.  Constantly.  All day.  It seemed like I would just get in the middle of a project and then I would get called away to turn the lights on and off.  Annoying as this was, all of a sudden, I noticed one day that I hadn’t been called for light duty in quite awhile.  I actually had time to finish a project!  When I went upstairs to investigate, I saw this:

ks1

 

Noah decided to climb the vanity so he could turn the lights off and on all by himself.  Horrified, I started researching solutions, and what I found was KidSwitch!

Friends, let me tell you, sometimes the simplest of ideas are the most brilliant, and in this case, KidSwitch is a lifesaver!

ks3

 

So what is KidSwitch?  Well, basically, it’s an extender for your light switch!  It makes reaching the lights easy and safe for the little ones who can’t reach them otherwise.  As you can see by the picture, it has a pleasant, neutral design, one that even glows in the dark, and installation is a breeze!

ks4

I’ll admit, the first time I installed it, I tightened the screws too tightly, and was having trouble with it turning the lights on.  That was completely my fault, once I figured it out, it worked perfectly.

I was super excited for Noah to see the KidSwitch when he woke up from his nap!  When he got up and I followed him to the bathroom, I told him, “Go ahead and turn the lights on all by yourself.”  Confused, he started to climb the vanity again.  “No, no!  Try and stretch really big, see if you can reach it now.”  He looked at me like I was crazy, then agreed to humor me.  What I saw next was the biggest, brightest smile!

ks5

 

He can now very easily turn the lights on and off all by himself, something very important for little ones, and most importantly, it is safe!  No more climbing the vanity, no more running up and down the stairs all day to turn the lights on and off, KidSwitch is AWESOME!!!  We will definitely be ordering more, I need them in the kids rooms and the playroom for sure!

Check out this video to see the KidSwitch in action:

So, I know I can’t be the only one with crazy high light switches!  If you would like to get your house set up with your very own KidSwitch (or ten!), then click HERE to go to their website and enter code kidswitch10 at checkout for a 10% discount, just for my readers!  If you order a three pack, you also get free shipping!  Trust me, you will want multiples for every kid friendly room in your house!

“Like” KidSwitch on Facebook by clicking HERE.

Follow KidSwitch on Twitter by clicking HERE.

 

The awesome folks at KidSwitch provided me with their awesome product for review purposes free of charge.  I was not compensated in any other way, and I really do think their product is awesome!!

Leave a Reply

