Happy New Year’s Eve!

Confetti

Confetti (Photo credit: ADoseofShipBoy)

And happy birthday to me!

What a busy year this has been!  We started the year, pinching pennies and putting everything we could aside in hopes of maybe, just maybe being able to find a new house.  Here I sit, on the very last day of 2013, another year older, presumably another year wiser, and in our new house.  What a blessing!

I am lucky enough to have a handful of friends and family that are true blessings in my life.  This year, I have started taking inventory on my life, and most especially the people in it.  I’m a grudge holder, a habit that is very hard for me to break, but this year, I have found myself releasing the heavy grudges I’ve held for years and just accepting the calm that takes it’s place.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I have released grudges, but at the same time, I have come to realize that there are just some people that I don’t need to be around.  Life is too short to be spent worrying about drama, whether self made or brought on by parasitic people in our lives.  Live and let live, but save the drama for yo mama and keep on steppin’.  :)

I have a giant to do list for 2014, not least of all being more healthy changes for myself.  I am avoiding making any drastic new year’s resolutions because if and when I tend to backslide, it feels like the end of the world for me, not just a bad day.  I am too easily discouraged, it’s silly, but why set myself up for failure?  No, this year, I will make small changes and just strive for happy.  If my choices are making me happy, my husband happy, my babies happy, well then, I think I’m doing pretty great.  :)

I’ve never been a big New Year’s Eve party kinda girl.  Growing up with your birthday on that day, you kinda forget that it’s any other special day.  I haven’t been out for New Year’s…..ever.  Haha!  Abe and I used to go out for my birthday, but that was well before babies.  Don’t feel sorry for me though, because at home with my husband and babies is where I would rather be.

As I type this, I can hear the pitter patter of little feet, running around and excitedly whispering.  The clanging around in the kitchen and the sounds of puppies following closely behind the pitter pattering tells me the babies are undoubtedly making me my special birthday breakfast.  Probably burned toast, fruit and semi mixed chocolate milk, but having been made by tiny hands and with endless love, it is most certainly a breakfast fit for a queen.

Happy New Year, and here’s to a safe and amazing 2014!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year’s Eve!

Leave a Reply

