A song for this gloomy, Wednesday

Music is a funny thing.  It has the power to stir up powerful emotions, or to change the mood of the day entirely.  Some people take music far too seriously, and others fail to see the magic that it can possess.  My taste in music is hugely varied.  I am extremely affected by music, and there are certain types of music, or even complete genres that can ruin an otherwise perfectly lovely disposition.  I tend to prefer happy, dancey tunes, but being the huge dork that I am, I am also highly amused by the far lesser known melodies, often found hidden between more popular tracks.

Growing up in the 80’s, I had the luxury of watching classic re-runs of old shows like I Love Lucy, The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Monkees, etc.  The funny thing about growing up watching these shows far removed from their original run, often decades later, is that as a young girl prone to crushes, I found myself giddy and swooning over the heart throbs of yesterday.  David Cassidy, Bobby Sherman, The Beatles, The Monkees, none were safe from my teeny bopper obsession.

I remember being completely smitten with The Monkees one summer, and borrowing all of their albums from our local library.  I thought I knew all of their songs, I had no idea of the hidden gold on their lesser known albums.  Now, The Monkees are not a popular group to admit enjoying, much less admit to obsessing over.  A lot of their tracks are silly fun, and there is also a surprising mix of Michael Nesmith heavy songs that are very much folksy, rock and roll, twangy and definitely more than a little bit country.  But, in the days of Madonna and MTV, I cherished every single note.

This post is growing awfully long for the fun little song I wanted to share.

Anyway, this song is one of the hidden gems, one I loved from the very moment I heard it.  It told a story, it sounded different, there was a twist!  I would play it on repeat over and over, play a few other songs, and then come back to it.  It was funny!  It had a message!  I was always so incredibly excited to share it with someone, and equally crushed if they didn’t love it.

I won’t be crushed if you don’t love it, no worries.  I shared it with my babies recently, and in all their lovely dorkiness, they loved it just as much as I do.  That, or they sensed my love for the song and decided to play along so as not to hurt mama’s feelings!  Haha!

Enjoy.  Or not.  But if you don’t, you are wrong.  ;)

 

Leave a Reply

