Cutting The Cord

tvclipart

 

This has been an idea stewing in the back of my brain for years and years, but finally, it has been brought to fruition!  Today, we have officially cut the cable tv cord!!  Not only will this save us over $100 a month, but it will also remove the hypnotic feeling that having over 200 channels to choose from tends to give us!

Now, don’t get me wrong, mama loves her some television!!  It is how I unwind at night, watching the ridiculous housewives, or the rapidly multiplying Duggars, or even the annual Walking Dead Fourth of July marathon.  (Yes, I have seen every Walking Dead episode multiple times, and yet, can’t seem to help myself from binge watching them again every year!)

But, with free antenna tv, which just so happens to play the vast majority of television shows that we watch, and the addition of Roku and Netflix, honestly, paying over $100 a month for tv just did not make sense!

I’m looking forward to having more time to just appreciate being together as a family!  No more endless tv choices for us and the kids, keeping us from spending more time outside or out doing things together.  No more constant begging from the kids to own every single toy that is blasted in their faces during the insane amount of commercial breaks on the many 24 hour kids networks.

I’ll have to let you know if we are all still as blissful a week or so from now!  Haha!  I know my biggest hurdle was convincing Abe, what with his MLB obsession.  Once I got him on board, I knew it was time to take the plunge!

Have you cut the cable tv cord?  Did it feel this amazing and freeing to you when you slashed your bill?  It’s wicked awesome, in my humble opinion!  ;)

One thought on “Cutting The Cord

  1. We never had cable until the kids grew up. Now I am in love with the cooking channel and those same Duggers. Maybe I should talk to Hungarian Work Horse and see if he wants to cut the cord. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

