Old Williamsburgh Candle from Dollar Tree: Caution!

In a recent trip to one of our local Dollar Tree stores, I came across a new candle that I had not seen there before.  It was shaped like the top portion of a wine glass, had a cork topper, and an intriguing scent, “Chardonnay Spritzer”.  I didn’t see any other varieties, but fell in love with the lovely aroma, so I went ahead and purchased one.

candle

I set it near my desk when we got home, and then got to work on a crochet project.  Not long after I sat down, I suddenly heard the sound of something falling.  I looked around and couldn’t see the source, so I kept working.

Soon later, I heard the sound again, only this time, I saw what was making the noise.  The newly purchased candle was falling apart!  Shards of glass were breaking free and falling off.  Nothing had touched this candle in any way, it just started self destructing, without even being lit!

I immediately decided I wouldn’t dream of taking the chance of burning this candle, no matter how lovely the scent.  I have no clue what caused this candle to break like this, but would use extreme caution if purchasing any.

The next time I went to the Dollar Tree, they still had some left, some of which were broken just like mine did.  Little shards of glass, littering the shelf.  I did not risk buying anymore.

I am unfamiliar with this candle company, and have never purchased any candles from them before.  The scent of this particular candle is amazing, it really drew me in.  It really does smell just like a chardonnay spritzer, tangy and refreshing.  What a bummer that the vessel was such a dud!

Have you ever heard of this candle company?  Has anyone else had this experience with the glass breaking?  I’m curious to know if this was a fluke, or maybe even damaged product that mistakenly got sent out for sale.

Leave a Reply

