Happy Yarn Mail June 2017 Review

Another month has gone by, and that means it is time for a new Happy Yarn Mail review!  Let’s jump right in!

hym1

As always, this box arrives looking absolutely adorable, with it’s colorful sprinkles and overall happy design.

hym2

Upon opening the box, this is what you see.  The June Happy Yarn Mail project is a Patriotic Amigurumi Bear.  This box shipped at the very end of June, so it did arrive just in time to quickly whip this project up before the 4th of July, and he can easily stay out all month long for decoration, or even year round, just as a patriotic teddy bear.

hym3

Included in the box this month is four skeins of yarn, (a larger one in brown, and three smaller skeins in red, white, and blue) the pattern for the bear, stuffing and safety eyes, and the two extras are the 8 count package of sparklers and the sunglasses.

hym4

I modified the colors on the shirt just for personal preference, and added some cute star shaped buttons I had on hand.  If you were giving this to a small child, it would be best to embroider the star, as shown in the instructions, to avoid a choking hazard.  I also made a little red, white and blue sparkler for the teddy bear to hold, using some of the left over yarn.  I think it looks adorable!

This pattern was easy and quick to make.  There were some issues for me with the written instructions, but overall, if you have experience with amigurumi, your instinct will help you correct those issues.  Also, each month, there is a video link for tutorial purposes, however, that is slightly misleading.  Mostly, it shows you a tip or trick for one aspect of the project, it does not show you a full video tutorial, so if you were hoping for that, you will be disappointed.

Another issue with the video links, first they were difficult to decipher in the first few boxes, causing issues for people looking for the online help.  Then, with last month’s link, it required a super secret password that you had to ask for through direct message.  Frustrating.  This month, the password was included in the box.  They are working out the kinks, I get that.  But it seems like that is a big one to have so many issues with.

sunglasses

I did not notice the writing on the sunglasses until a few days after opening the package, and while they are cute and better than the plain ones I thought were included…..I have to say, this month made me wish I had ordered the mini version of the box to save some money.

I have so many conflicting feeling on Happy Yarn Mail!  I feel obligated to support the project because it is crochet.  It’s yarn!  And a pattern!  And an extra little goody, delivered right to my door!

But it is greatly overpriced.

I also find myself needing to modify quite a few parts of the patterns.  I appreciate that they are including more yarn, because my first box did not even have enough to finish the project.  But the value is just not there for sustaining this subscription long term.

This is not a box I feel happy paying $40 for.  I’m sorry.  I love the idea of it, I enjoy the projects, I like the thought of crochet related goodies, but I don’t like feeling like I am overspending on a monthly novelty.  I would rather buy $40 of yarn at the local craft store!

I still say I would happily pay $25 total for the full box.  I have ordered July’s box, but I think it will be the last full size box I will order.  I will try the mini box, but I don’t think I will find the value there at all, without the little extras.

I feel like it is important to support the crochet designers out there, especially the ones creating projects that you enjoy making, but the best way to do that is to purchase some of their patterns and leave them good reviews to keep them motivated to keep creating content.

While I feel my intent is good, supporting this particular designer by purchasing this monthly box, I think my goodwill is getting squeezed out by the hefty price tag.

Just my opinion, friends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

