Crochet Ice Cream Pin Cushion

Recently, on a trip to my local Michael’s store, I came across a super adorable ceramic ice cream cone in several, pretty pastel colors.  I knew immediately that I had to have it, and that it would look so sweet as the bottom of a crocheted ice cream scoop, which would serve perfectly as a pin cushion!

8

Does an open box of pointy pins scare you as much as it scares me?  I am always so afraid of getting pricked by one, I don’t even reach in the box!  I just dump some out and safely separate them with a pencil or hook or whatever is handy that isn’t my fingers!

3

I have wanted to make myself a pin cushion for quite awhile now, I just couldn’t make myself buy the old tomato pin cushion in the stores.  And with my pretty rainbow colored pins, they will make the perfect “sprinkles” for my ice cream scoop!

Let’s get started!

Supplies needed:

*Crochet Hook (I used a 3.5mm hook for mine, but of course any hook will work.  Smaller hooks and tighter stitches make smaller projects, while larger hooks and looser stitches make larger projects.  Stick close to the 3.5mm size if replicating this project exactly.) 

*Worsted Weight Yarn (choose any “flavor” you like!) 

*Ice Cream Cone (Mine is from Michael’s, but you could also use a small cup, a bowl, or even crochet your own cone!) 

*Fiber Fill Stuffing

*Hot Glue or E-6000 (Something nice and strong for attaching the scoop of ice cream to your cone.) 

*Stitch Marker (We will be working in continuous rounds.)

Abbreviations:

Pattern is written using US crochet terms.

sc : single crochet
hdc : half double crochet
dc : double crochet
sl st : slip stitch

ch: chain

 

Instructions:

We will be working in continuous rounds here, so insert your stitch marker at the end of each round.

Round 1: Work 6 sc into a magic circle.  (6)
Round 2: Work 2 sc into each stitch around. (12)
Round 3: Work *1 sc into next stitch, 2 sc into next stitch* 6 times. (18)
Round 4: Work *1 sc into next 2 stitches, 2 sc into next stitch* 6 times. (24)
Round 5: Work *1 sc into next 3 stitches, 2 sc into next stitch* 6 times. (30)
Round 6: Work *1 sc into next 4 stitches, 2 sc into next stitches* 6 times. (36)
Round 7: Work *1 sc into next 5 stitches, 2 sc into next stitches* 6 times.(42)
Round 8: Work *1 sc into next 6 stitches, 2 sc into next stitches* 6 times. (48)

Rounds 9-18: Work 1 sc into each stitch around. (48) Do not fasten off.

1

Ruffle on bottom of scoop:

Round 19: Remove stitch marker, and now, work in front loops only.  Ch 1, in next stitch, in front loop only, 2hdc.  In next stitch, 4hdc.  Alternate 2hdc and 4hdc in front loops only, all the way around the scoop.  When you come to the end, sl st and fasten off.

You should have a super cute scoop of ice cream now, ready for filling!

2

Optional Cherry on top: I like to attach my cherry before stuffing, it’s just easier!  This project would look cute with or without the cherry on top.  You can also sew your own sprinkles on top, if you didn’t want to use this as a pin cushion.

To make the cherry, use red worsted weight yarn and either a fancy schmancy pom pom maker, or your handy dandy fingers!  I just use my fingers.  I start by cutting a piece of yarn about 10 inches long.  Set this aside for tying your yarn in just a bit!

Now, wrap the red yarn around three fingers about 36-40 times.  Don’t wrap it too tightly or it will be tougher to get off and tie.

4

Once you are done wrapping, very carefully remove the wrapped  yarn from your fingers, being certain not to let the loops move or fall apart.  Take the piece of yarn we set aside and tie it very tightly around the very middle of your loops.  You want to wrap it around twice and really tie it quite tightly.

Now you get your scissors and cut the loop ends, so you have a crazy ball of yarn bits.  Be careful not to cut your tie in the middle.  Trim the yarn all around, making it smaller and neater, eventually making a cute little pom pom, or in this case, cherry.

7

To attach, simply stitch into place on top of your ice cream cone.  It’s easier to do this before stuffing.

You could also hot glue a pre made pom pom here, but where’s the fun in that?

Finishing:

Finishing this project is super easy.  First, you want to stuff the bottom of the ice cream cone.  You can use fiber fill, or paper towels, whatever you have.  It won’t be noticeable in the bottom cone part of this project, so I used paper towels and made it very firm so that the stuffing from the scoop would have a firm bottom.

Stuff the scoop with your fiber fill.  You want it nice and full, with a good firmness to it, since we are using this as a pin cushion.

Initially, I planned on gluing my scoop on with E-6000, however, I found that it would have been difficult to keep it held in place for the amount of time it would take to cure.  Don’t get me wrong, I love me some E-6000, but in this project, I found hot glue to work best for me.

I put a dot of hot glue on one side of the cone and then placed the scoop in place over it.  I did this with the scoop upside down, and the cone on top.  This allowed me to keep the stuffing pushed in while I glued it in place, and gravity was on my side this way.

Keep doing this, all around the cone.  If you imagine the circle as a clock, I glued in 12 and 6 first, and then 3 and 9.  Then I just kept closing the little gaps by doing dots of glue in between.

Be careful with hot glue!  Martha Stewart always suggests having a bowl of ice water next to you when working with hot glue, and believe me, it comes in handy!

Once your scoop is glued in place, all that’s left is the sprinkles!

9

I love how cute this pin cushion turned out!!  It’s cute and functional!  No more stressing about getting stabbed by the mess of pins!  Yay!

I hope you enjoy this pattern as much as I do!  It was super fun to come up with, I can’t wait to make some new flavors!

 

 

Leave a Reply

